Pally PuG Problem

Recently my guild has decided that all of us healers need to have decent offspecs incase we need to use them…like if we somehow actually get more than three healers on any given raid night…which never happens. Anyway, this means I’ve run heroics as ret lately. I’m well aware that in WoW paladin’s are one of the top three classes played (come on, you can’t sneeze without snot landing on a light infused mace), so the number of people who simply don’t know what they’re doing is going to be catastrophically larger than  less populated classes. But, this presents a problem to me because, you see, I cannot keep my mouth shut. Any time I get placed in a group with a Holy Pally I immediately check their gear, and in an overwhelming huge percentage I find paladin’s who are decently geared having…spirit gems. All I can do is cradle my head in my hands and say “shut up, shut up or you will get into a huge cat fight about spirit and MP5 and spellpower and you don’t want that…just DPS and shut up, shut up…”

When I’m raiding in my guild with another paladin healer I make it a point to talk to them if they’re running with spirit gems, or about the Divine Sacrifice build versus the more traditional Holy/Ret build, etc. Hey, if I’m going to spend a large part of my night (or nights) with you I at least want you well-informed. Most of the time these people don’t read theorycrafting sites, or scan elitistjerks, or spend a large part of any day stalking other Paladin bloggers waiting for something interesting to read. That’s fine, but don’t expect me to not bug you during raids when those sparkly blue gems catch my eye.

Majority of the time the people I’m raiding with are very receptive about advice. Like I said, they often don’t know and they’re willing to take advice to improve. I’m not one to boss-boss-boss about what gear people choose because it is their toon. However, I see nothing wrong with letting them know there is a better way to keep the tanks alive and which will make their lives easier.

I just don’t know how to talk to people in PuGs about this stuff.

It’s in my nature to be nosy and bossy. I’m a know-it-all as well. Usually this doesn’t affect me terribly in the outside world, but in-game, well…I started this website to share my knowledge and thoughts about raiding and healing. I consider myself well-informed, and I don’t like letting some poor sap use useless gems in their gear and suffer through healing HoR, heaven forbid actual raids.

What I see as a common curtsey and a general act of kindness may not be perceived as such by the paladin receiving my critiques. Nerdrage lays thick on the ground in WoW. People don’t often like being told that they have no idea what they’re doing, no matter what class they happen to be. When I whisper someone in a PuG something like “So I noticed you’re having some mana issues, my main spec is holy and I can offer you some advice…” or “Hey those spirit gems aren’t going to do you any good becuase…oh and my main spec is Holy…” I’m usually ignored. So I’m stuck in a bad situation of wanting to help, but knowing that it will do no good.

“Shut up, shup up, just DPS and don’t think about it…oh my god, they’re gemed for haste and casting only Flash of light and holy shock. Hurry, cleanse this poison before it…nope I’m dead. *sigh* Just shut up, you don’t want to get into it, just DPS and shut up…”

1 Comment

Filed under LFG, Raids

One response to “Pally PuG Problem

  1. When I’m not healing a heroic, I typically bring my own healer. I just don’t trust those strangers!

    The great thing about having a blog, though. If someone doesn’t want my advice, I think “FINE. I’ll write it on my blog. And OTHERS will THANK me for it.”

Leave a Reply

