Your Inner Lore Nerd

I'm slowly finding myself wearing these glassesWandering through the internet today I (somehow I don’t even remember what I was looking at) ended up watching the Wrath Gate video again. That lead to me spending a good hour reading about Varian Wrynn and his struggles with the Horde. I have to say I think Varian is justified in wanting to continue the war against the Horde. Peace doesn’t seem all that likely when the Horde are still enslaving Alliance members, intent on conquering Ashenvale and the Night Elves that reside there, and with Garrosh Hellscream instigating blood lust and hatred around every corner.

Anyway, what I wanted to say in this post is I can’t believe that so many people are missing out on all these awesome stories! The first week I started playing WoW (about a year and a half ago now) I spent a large part of one day reading over all the lore on Blizzard’s website. Unfortunately, most of that has been forgotten in the intervening time, but it makes me want to sneak downstairs and steal Punchileno’s little brother’s huge lore book (Yes, we play WoW with an eight year old sometimes, don’t hate). Lore makes the game much more personal– it gets you attached to characters and events like Wrath Gate mean so much more to a person who understands the hatred the Forsaken feel for all life, the pain of the Alliance and Horde at loosing two great generals, and the bravery of the warriors who fought the Scourge in an attempt to rid the world of the Lich King. I can tell you that going into raid tonight (Woohoo, ICC 10 at 9 pm) I’m going to feel the  presence of the Lich King more so much more. I don’t think that would be possible if I hadn’t just found my inner Lore Nerd.

I hope that we see more of a return of the war between the Alliance and the Horde in Cataclysm. It makes for interesting quests, and adds a feeling of unity with your fellow faction members. This “Well, I really want to kill you but *insert The Lich King/The Burning Legion/Deathwing* is/are trying to kill us and the world will end if we don’t set aside our differences and work together…” is getting kind of old. What I predict will happen is after Cataclysm comes out and they announce the next expansion pack is that it will be about the Maelstrom and the Naga. Some great Old God of the Sea is going to destroy Azeroth and our entire way of life if we don’t…well you get it. Although, the Old God idea is fascinating. Now I know how the Blizz story board writers feel when they’re trying to come up with more story! So many options so little time! Maybe Sylvanas Windrunner and RAS will release their “kill everything” plague and that will spark some more global faction fighting. That would be so interesting…Oh well. I contend myself with catching up on all the WoW books I haven’t read, in between reading Kushiel’s Avatar. So many books, so little time! I seem to be running out of time all over the place, and on that note, I’m going to go get ready for raid. Hopefully a one shot tonight!

Leave a comment

Filed under My life, Raids

Leave a Reply

