Shared Topic– 2009 WoW in Review

I was pretty determined not to read (or write) anything of this nature. However,  I know it’s been a while since I posted anything due to the holidays and travel, so I thought I would jump on the blogwagon (haha, see its a pun! Okay, no? Nevermind then.) and give you all an idea of how my first full year of playing WoW went.  This meme comes curtsy of Blog Azeroth’s shared topic forums, which always has interesting ideas for us bloggers.

“In the spirit of the annual RL year in review meme I have completed for the better part of this decade, I created one for Warcraft that I thought would be a good potential shared topic. Please tag 5 other folks to complete the meme and copy these instructions and the questions into your blog with your answers. Thanks all for your consideration!

My Warcraft Year in Review Meme

What did you do in the World of Warcraft in 2009 that you’d never done before?
What was your favorite new place that you visited?
What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?
What was your biggest achievement of the year?
What was your biggest failure?
What did you get really, really, really excited about?
What do you wish you’d done less of?
What was your favorite WoW blog or podcast?
Tell us a valuable WoW lesson you learned in 2009.

cheers!”

 

 1. What did you do in the World of Warcraft in 2009 that you’d never done before?

I began raiding. I hit 80 in June and soon after I was geared enough to begin Naxx 25s and Ulduar (Thanks purely to a very helpful boyfriend and a guild who desperately needed a healer). I had told myself that I didn’t think raiding would be my thing when I started playing. I didn’t want to be one of those people who played WoW for 12 hours a day, never saw the sunlight, and ate only Cheetos and hot pockets. This view was mainly due to a Step Dad who played hardcore Ever Quest and equated raiding with Crack Cocaine, because you can’t just do a little without wanting more. Happily I’ve found a good medium and can raid and still pass all my classes and keep a steady relationship. Raiding is really a joy to me because with healing I need to always be paying attention and using the tricks of my trade to keep players alive.

 
2. What was your favorite new place that you visited?

 

Ulduar was my favorite new place. The Decent into Madness area is stunningly beautiful, more beautiful than anything else I’ve seen in a video game. The rest of Northrend raiding is rather blah; blue walls, ice, black skulls, green slime, rotting corpses, and, in the case of ToC, lots of brown wood. However, Ulduar uses light and shadow to add depth to the terrain in a way that isn’t exhibited in Naxx and ICC. The raid is HUGE and each space is defined with unique graphics and ideas, giving you a sense that you are not in another raid, but in another world entirely, one in control of Yogg-Saron.

3. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?

 

I would like to have another level 80 character that I can play with. I think it would have to be either a mage/warlock or another healing class because I’m really terrible at melee DPS. I have my DW Frost DK, but she isn’t that fun to play because I’m just not interested in the Lore behind her. For someone who never played WarCraft III the Lich King story line is getting a little old, and DK’s are all about the Scourge and fighting Arthas. Having an Alt would give me much more flexibility with my guild because I wouldn’t have to always come on my Paladin, especially because we have four Paladin’s who want to be in our ten man group. The only problem is that I get really easily bored with leveling, and I tend to make a lot of characters instead of focusing on just one.

4. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

 

Getting my “Of The Nightfall” title was a pretty big achievement. Our raid group was having problems with finding dependable raiders who were self-aware enough for the zerg method. We finally managed to do it twice, and on the second time I rolled a 100 for the drake! I’m a sucker for cool titles, and to me this was the coolest title in the game. Well besides “insane”, which I will never get. 

5. What was your biggest failure?

 

Not downing Yogg-Saron. This fight is still the hardest raid boss in WoW even with ICC out. This is a big sore spot for our guild, because when we did have the players who could competently do the fight back when Ulduar was the newest raid, we lost a large part of our raid group to real life situations. Well, that’s what we get for being a smaller guild. You lose a few, everyone else is screwed. Thankfully we’re working to remedy this problem.

6. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

 

Ice Crown citadel. ToC got boring really fast (we had the reg 10 man on farm as soon as Anub came out) and I thought ICC would be a return to the Ulduar style of raiding, where it was a great achievement to actually finish a raid in one night. So far I’m a little disappointed, but with the second wing coming out on Tuesday hopefully my views will change! Woooo, Plagueworks!

7. What do you wish you’d done less of?

 

Honestly, it would be have less personality clashes with people. It bothers me when people get selfish in raids, i.e. being a loot whore, yelling about how we’re wasting their time/flasks/gold, and especially when people ask your opinion about something and then get upset when you tell them how it is, instead of sugar-coating your answer so their ego remains intact. If I’m doing something wrong its my responsiblity as a raider to know about it and fix it, even though I think I’m awesome. Some people don’t agree with this, and want their world all puppies and rainbows. I can understand this, but when your ego gets in the way of us progressing it becomes a problem that we need to talk about, like adults.

8. What was your favorite WoW blog or podcast?

 

Hmmm, It’s a toss-up between Theholypaldain.com and Ophelie over at Bosspally. They’re both really informative, and helpful to read, but depending on what type of mood I’m in I will waffle between who is my favorite. Ophelie has funnier posts, and she writes in a way that is more relatable. TheHolyPaladin.com has the information I need about my gear, flasks, skills etc. They’re both good reads and I highly recommend them.

9.Tell us a valuable WoW lesson you learned in 2009.

 

No matter what your intentions are, sometimes people will misunderstand you. People change, and change back, and leave, but the best thing you can do is to stick to what you believe in and do your best to have reasonable discussions about differences in opinions. Sometimes people will be offended by what you say for reasons you don’t understand, but the only way to save yourself from some /gquit drama is to always keep an open mind about how the other person is feeling.

This may be a game, but when you spend so much time with a small group of people every other night you are bound to make friends and you’ll also meet people you could live without. In a raiding guild you should not be as anonymous and unaccountable as you would be in a PuG group. Being “that guy” in-game gives us a look at who you really are, and if you’re fine with being a obstintatious pig in-game, then I’m going to assume that’s how you are outside of the game.

 Being considerate and coddling players are two different things, however. We don’t do anyone any favors when we lie to their faces about why their DPS sucked, or why the healers hate you because you’re the DPS that always screams “HEAL ME!11!!!1″ in the middle of the fight. I suppose, in this long ramble, what I’m trying to say is that being honest, but understanding, are traits that every raider should have in order to have a relaxed, progressive, and enjoyable raid group.

 

Well to finish off this Shared topic I’m going to pass it on to my fellow bloggers with a few links!

The lovely Ophelie at Bossypally.wordpress.com

TheHolypaladin.com

Mondka, my favorite healing buddy at makelikeatreeandleaf.wordpress.com

Codi, the best Theory crafter out their at MoarHPS.wordpress.com

holypaladin.net

Leave a comment

Filed under My life, Shared Topics

Leave a Reply

